Into Words

My wife is the kind of woman who
writes brewing instructions for tea
on a little card with illustrations above the kettle

Who complains about old Scottish customs
while her Glasgow patter only thickens

When I try to write about her
I have trouble because
I think she sounds too eccentric
and too warm and too wonderful
to be any fictional character I could create

But for once,
even as a writer
I am alright
with the prospect
of not knowing
what to say
or how to put
how I feel about her
into words.

Leave a Reply

