Self Portrait

you painted a self portrait recently

of your tiny fingers dragging into your tummy

fingernails digging into your flesh

 

and all I want to do

is to take that tiny hand

and take those tiny fingers

and kiss them gently

softly

the way I always do

 

you may not believe me

but I find that self portrait beautiful

 

because it reminds me

of the softness of your skin

and all the ways I can say I love you

without saying the words aloud

 

it reminds me

of how smooth your skin is

how warmth responds to warmth

 

so forgive me

if all I ever do is study it

to follow the lines of your veins

along the back of your hand

 

and think about

how I might kiss you

or your nipples

the next time I see you

 

maybe

I didn’t react ‘properly’

to your artwork

but to me

an emotional response

is all the artist ever wants

 

and all I want to do

is to take that tiny hand

and take those tiny fingers

and kiss them gently

softly

the way I always do

 


 

 

So this poem is inspired by a self portrait my wife did for a friend’s zine, Bodies. You can find the painting here: http://artbyval.ca/post/142359318947/i-recently-provided-a-painting-for-a-friends (NSFW).

 

 

Leave a Reply

