Tiny Cabin

 

I love our tiny cabin

nestled by the lake

an hour out of town

 

with its floral wallpaper

with pink and yellow petals

and little green leaves

 

with its oily water from a well

and paint peeling

from its sodden eaves

 

I love the way the grass feels under my feet

and the way the birds move through the bulrushes

and the scrape of the canoe as it first hits the water, shells sinking deeper

 

I love the matching china

I love the handmade quilts

I love the sound and smell of its darkness

when I’m falling asleep

 

I love the key under the step

I love the sticky doors

I love the feeling of being alone out there

being with myself

a long, sweet conversation

uninterrupted

 

But I’m not alone

 

Did you know

the cabin

is full of spiders?

 

4 thoughts on “Tiny Cabin

Leave a Reply

