A Girl Has To

 

it is terrifying

how little

men may choose to know

about a woman’s period

 

were you not sitting beside me

in sex ed class? filling out the same book as me?

 

I studied

semen, and sperm,

seminal vesicles

ducts, glands, deep dorsal veins

and wet dreams

 

and still

all around me

I hear:

 

a girl only gets her period once in her life

 

a girl only gets her period after she’s had sex

 

a girl has to change her tampon

every time she pees

 

a girl has to wear tampons

all the time, every day, even when she sleeps

in case her period comes

 

a girl can choose

when she wants to have her period

like selecting the time for a parcel delivery.

 

cramps

are something that you have

in your stomach

and they aren’t really

that bad.

 

I understand

that all those sex ed classes

were awkward

and filled with things

filmed in the 80’s

 

but my 17-year-old self

would be alarmed

by how little you know

of my body

yet you declare

 

You want to be inside me.

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Girl Has To

Leave a Reply

