Howling

my dog

started howling today

because I think he thought

he was alone

 

even though

I was right around the corner

in the other room

 

and when I interrupted

to let him know

I was there

he was surprised

to see me

 

but I’ve been feeling

that way too

 

eating single-sized

portions

and going home

to sleep

 

It’s hard

to see

all the people around me

who love me

who I haven’t seen

in a while

because of work

or study

or an unplanned head cold

 

maybe

one day too

I’ll figure out

the irony

of the importance

of creating a stress-free

environment

for all my students

 

while I am

so stressed

I don’t eat

or I don’t sleep

or the anxiety

turns to bile in my stomach

 

I just need a reminder

of all the people I haven’t seen

of all the people I miss

 

I just

 

 

Leave a Reply

