the same men

who say they’ll protect me

from trans people

in bathrooms

 

are the same men

who take away

my reproductive rights

 

who make birth control more expensive

even when i have a pre-existing condition

that is better managed

with birth control

 

the same men

who say

they’ll protect me

from trans people

in bathrooms

 

are the same men who’ve

touched me in a lift

without asking

who’ve found

my reproductive parts

with their fingers

without asking

 

a trans person

has never touched me

without asking

 

a trans person

has only ever

existed beside me

 

and if i had to choose

between those same men

in my bathroom

 

or a trans person

 

i would choose

the trans person

 

in fact

i think i always will

 

Leave a Reply

